Megan Schliesman

Position title: Librarian/Assistant Director


Megan Schliesman photo

Megan Schliesman is a librarian and assistant director at the Cooperative Children’s Book Center of the School of Education at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Megan has co-authored the annual CCBC Choices publication since 1993, and, with Kathleen T. Horning and Ginny Moore Kruse, coauthored Multicultural Literature for Children and Young Adults, 1991-1996. Among her other responsibilities at the CCBC, Megan manages the CCBC Intellectual Freedom Information Services, and writes the “What IF . . . Questions and Answers on Intellectual Freedom” forum. She recently co-chaired the American Library Association/Association for Library Service to Children (ALA/ALSC) Morris Seminar (2022). In the past she’s chaired the ALA/ALSC Awards Program Review Task Force, and co-chaired the ALA/ALSC 2018 Charlemae Rollins President’s Program. She chaired the ALA/ALSC 2011 Laura Ingalls Wilder Committee (now Children’s Literacy Legacy Award), and served on the ALA/ALSC 2005 Newbery Award Committee. She has also chaired numerous Charlotte Zolotow Award Committees (administered by the CCBC).  Megan was the recipient of the 2018 Lee A. Burress Intellectual Freedom Award from the Wisconsin Council of Teachers of English, and the 2014 WLA/WEMTA Intellectual Freedom Award. She is past chair of the Wisconsin Educational Media and Technology Association’s Intellectual Freedom Special Interest Group, and a past member of the Wisconsin Library Association Intellectual Freedom Roundtable board. Megan is a former member of the ALA/ALSC Board of Directors, and a former member of South Central Library System Board of Trustees in Wisconsin. She is also a former columnist for Library Sparks magazine. She has a B.A. degree in English/Writing from UW-Whitewater with a minor in Women’s Studies, and a Master’s Degree in Library and Information Studies from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.